Elektra Released BEHIND THE CANDELABRA Soundtrack May 21st.

Elektra Records has announced the release of “BEHIND THE CANDELABRA — MUSIC FROM THE HBO ORIGINAL FILM,” the musical companion to the highly anticipated HBO Films production. (Musical Score and arrangements by Marvin Hamlisch.) The album arrives at all leading digital retailers today, May 21st; Behind the Candelabra debuts on HBO on Sunday, May 26th at 9pm (check local listings).

Behind The Candelabra

Behind the Candelabra stars Academy Award winner Michael Douglas as the legendary Liberace and Academy Award winner Matt Damon as Scott Thorson, the famously flamboyant showman’s longtime partner and confidant. The film based on Thorson’s 1988 memoir is directed by Academy Award winner Steven Soderbergh (Ocean’s Eleven, Magic Mike), from a script by Academy Award nominee Richard LaGravenese, and executive produced by Emmy winner Jerry Weintraub.

BEHIND THE CANDELABRA — MUSIC FROM THE HBO ORIGINAL FILM” features new music recorded specifically for the film alongside an array of Liberace’s own recordings. Among the soundtrack’s highlights is a trio of performances by Michael Douglas, including a rendition of “The Liberace Boogie”

Video Behind the candelabra

The collection also features work from celebrated composer Marvin Hamlisch, and performances from pianist Randy Kerber as well as concert pianist Idil Biret, many in collaboration with the film’s core musical unit, The BTC Orchestra and The BTC Singers (see below tracklisting). “BEHIND THE CANDELABRA — MUSIC FROM THE HBO ORIGINAL FILM” was executive produced by Marvin Hamlisch, Steven Soderbergh, and Jerry Weintraub; Soundtrack Producers are Evyen Klean and Kevin Weaver.

BEHIND THE CANDELABRA — MUSIC FROM THE HBO ORIGINAL FILM” is available for pre-order now at iTunes (Listen to music samples), the Atlantic Records Webstore, and at the HBO Online Shop

HBO Films presents Behind The Candelabra, starring Academy Award winners Michael Douglas and Matt Damon; executive produced by Emmy award winner Jerry Weintraub; and directed by Academy Award winner Steven Soderbergh from a script by Oscar nominee Richard LaGravenese. The film is produced by Gregory Jacobs, Susan Ekins and Michael Polaire.

For more news and information, please visit HBO:

Visit HBO



(Elektra Records)

Release Date: May 21st


1. The Liberace Fanfare — The BTC Orchestra

 2. The Liberace Boogie — The BTC Orchestra Feat. Michael Douglas

 3. Carioca — The BTC Orchestra

 4. Chopin Nocturne In E Flat Major — Randy Kerber

 5. Tico Tico — Liberace

 6. When Liberace Winks At Me — Liberace Feat. Peggy King

 7. Why Do I Love You — Michael Douglas

 8. Kitten On The Keys — Liberace

 9. NOLA — The BTC Orchestra

 10. Begin The Beguine — The BTC Orchestra

 11. I Belong With You — The BTC Singers

 12. Prelude in E Minor, Op. 28, No. 4 — Idil Biret

 13. Love Is Blue — Liberace

 14. The Impossible Dream — Michael Douglas

Executive Soundtrack Producers: Marvin Hamlisch, Steven Soderbergh, & Jerry Weintraub

Soundtrack Producers:  Evyen Klean and Kevin Weaver

Related content:

HBO’s BEHIND THE CANDELABRA — Marvin Hamlisch’s final musical score for film

Source: TV News Desk & Broadway World May 21, 2013